MTNS, the International Symposium on the Mathematical Theory of Networks and Systems is a major symposium in the general area of mathematical systems theory. The symposium is interdisciplinary and attracts mathematicians, engineers and researchers working in all aspects of systems theory. The symposium is organized every two years and traditionally covers areas involving a wide range of research directions in mathematical systems, networks and control theory. Mathematical methods which play a role in the areas mentioned above stem from a broad range of fields of pure and applied mathematics, including ordinary and partial differential equations, real and complex analysis, numerical analysis, probability theory and stochastic analysis, operator theory, linear and commutative algebra as well as algebraic and differential geometry. There are a wide range of applications ranging from problems in biology, communications and mathematical finance to problems in chemical engineering, aerospace engineering and robotics.

The meetings are scheduled by an international steering committee. The twenty previous MTNS meetings were held in:

1973                       College Park, Maryland, USA

1975                       Montreal, Canada

1977                       Lubbock, Texas, USA

1979                       Delft, the Netherlands

1981                       Santa Monica, California, USA

1983                       Beer Sheva, Israel

1985                       Stockholm, Sweden,

1987                       Phoenix, Arizona, USA

1989                       Amsterdam, the Netherlands

1991                       Kobe, Japan

1993                       Regensburg, Germany

1996                       St. Louis, Missouri, USA

1998                       Padova, Italy

2000                       Perpignan, France

2002                       Notre Dame, Indiana, USA

2004                       Leuven, Belgium

2006                       Kyoto, Japan

2008                       Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

2010                       Budapest, Hungary

2012                       Melbourne, Australia

2014                       Groningen, Netherlands

2016                       Minneapolis, USA